Welcome to Mr. 2017’s house!


“Come on. Be fast. We are already very late. I don’t want to spend my whole day standing in a queue just to talk to someone I don’t even want to see the face of.”

His friend came running from his house, with a bouquet in his hand.

Pointing out to that bouquet, the other one asked, “What the hell is that for?” His friend shrugged off his question and reminded him of them already being late.

They reached a lane of huge bungalows. H/No. 2020, H/No. 2018. There it is; the opposite end. One of them shouted. Luckily they were the first ones to reach H/No. 2017. No queues, nothing. They rang the bell. A lady welcomed them with a smile. You people came little earlier. We still have time to enter into 2017. She said.

After being seated in living room, the one with bouquet handed it over to the lady. This is for the owner of the house. He said. Within a few minutes, a young man in blue tuxedo greeted them with warm hugs. He was the owner of H/No. 2017. Along with him was an old man with wrinkled face and loose skin, the owner of H/No. 2016. He was too weak to even smile properly.

Once everybody was on the sofa, Mr. 2017 asked them their reason to be there.
The disinterested one slammed his fist on the table and said, “See. It is very clear from our side. We had a very rough 2016, especially I. I lost a lot of things, I flunked, I failed a lot of tasks. I mean talk of any loss, I had that in 2016. Now you are going to be our new owner. Within few days we will shift in your house. So all I want to say is – I am fed up of this. Greeting new owner every year, asking them to be good to me and end up being another gloomy visitor to new one. Why can’t I be a cheerful visitor? I am tired of this face of mine.”

The friend of the boy hardly spoke anything during this whole interaction. He, in fact was looking around the house, trying to figure out by what ways he can make his stay in this new house better. He was contemplating over his lapses, oversights and blunders that made his stay at Mr. 2016s not that fortunate.

Mr. 2017, even after listening to all those undeserving statements stayed calm. He turned to Mr. 2016, who was still there, trying to hear the conversation with his half deaf ears. Mr. 2016, it seems you have been harsh on them. Mr. 2017 told him gently.
“You guys, I remember you. You came to my place last year. Didn’t you?” He asked the two boys. The frustrated one said, “But that visit hardly made any difference.”

“Look boys. All I can do for you is give you 365 days. Each day having 24 hours. Even your visit cannot turn those days into 500 or any other number. It’s going to stay the same.
I did see you from the terrace of my house. You lost, failed, flunked not because of Mr. 2016, but because of your unplanned ventures, moderate hard work and insufficient passion. Though you lost some tussles even after giving your best. Give them a shot in 2017 too.” Mr. 2017 winked at the boys. “One advantage that I can give you over others who didn’t visit me is, you along with your friend can shift to my house few days earlier than the official date. This way you can have ‘365 plus’ days in 2017 to turn, if not all, at least some of your lost battles into triumphs, and new challenges too. I hope that would help.”

So what are you waiting for? Go and ring the bell of Mr. 2017’s house before you get stuck behind those long queues. After all who wouldn’t like those 365 plus days to plan in advance his/her future. πŸ˜‰

ny
Happy 2017!

P.S.On the personal front, 2016 has been the most eventful, memorable and momentous year of my whole life. Thank you Mr. 2016.

Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  Β  No credits for Image used.
Copyright Β© 2016 by Idle Muser. All rights reserved.

44 thoughts on “Welcome to Mr. 2017’s house!

  1. Wow! What an ingenious piece!
    Really admire your creativity in this.
    2016 wasn’t all perfect but did shower me with some wonderful gifts including a WordPress blog.
    2017 is going to be a very important year in my life and I really hope the mister stays kind to me throughout.
    May you have a wonderful 2017 yourself πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh how I love your creative thinking!!! this is a great read! Mr.2016 was very good to me as well sweetheart but I definitely showed up early for Mr.2017!! He is a new love to me I was glad to meet him! XO! A very happie and healthy year to you Aditi!! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Maureen!
      It’s been two days up but that will not hold me to wish you a Happy and Prosperous 2017. πŸ˜‰ ❀
      I am glad that 2016 treated you well too. Hope this coming year provides you with more reasons to smile and laugh. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes my reader is not treating me kind sorry to say haha so I have to check blogs one by one so it takes me a bit longer but know what honey its totally worth it to get to read you!! ❀ thank you so much for the well wishes! Im glad to be here with you Aditi! XO!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Aditi that was so innovative❀ one of the best new year articles I have ever read, far better than those how to stick to your resolution implementation! Wow it motivated me tooπŸ˜„
    So wish you a very Happy Mr 2017. πŸŽ‡πŸŽ†β€πŸ˜„

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much girl.😘😘
      Words from people like you motivates me to get better. I’m lucky to have you all around me.πŸ™‚
      An extremely happy New Year wish to you from my side.πŸŽ‰πŸ˜‰
      May 2⃣0⃣1⃣7⃣ turns out to be your best year.πŸ˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

  4. A very Happy New Year, Aditi. May the Almighty fill happiness in your life..
    A very inspiring and I loved the way you wrote this article…
    I truly wish that in 2017 you write loads and loads of posts…
    Keep Writing and shining for your lover ones,
    Enigma

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you soo much girl!😘😘😘
      Your words made my 2016 to end better and 2017 to start smoothly.
      A very happy and prosperous New Year to you too.😍
      Looking forward to see your blog thrive in this year.😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Truly inspiring article,goading people to not to shift blame for their mismanagement and take responsibility for their actions. Keep writing keep inspiring.

    Wish you all the best for your coming year. I hope next year turns out even better than present one.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you Sir.😍
      Shrugging off our responsibilities on others is always an easy way out and we, humans are epic in doing that. I too suffer with this epic issue and so want to get rid off it.
      I wish your 2017 brings a lot of surprises and proud moments in your life.😊

      Like

  6. Haha…i celebrated(Mr 2017)his arrival yesterday and every year has something for us with bright & dull moments left us with experience of life…i always love your thought process Aditi(i want to write like this) & your style of writing is the coolest oneπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ
    Have a great year ahead with happiness & joy,i hope Mr 2017 has lot of lucks & success for you.😊🎊🎈

    Liked by 2 people

    1. This comment is so special. Not only the New Year wishes but the appreciation.😍😍
      Thank you so much Prashantt. Your words made my day (or I should say the first night of 2017).πŸ˜ƒ
      May you have a happy, flourishing and successful 2017 too!πŸŽ‰πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Lol I had to read it thrice to make myself understand the true virtue of this post. Damn was lost in numbers. (facepalm). Lucky you ! You are one of those few earthlings who had an eventful 2016. Hope it continues the same πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. πŸ˜„I didn’t realize if the numbers made it that complicated. But at last you got it.😁
      If only it was the end of 1999 and start of 2000, I could have simply used 19th century and 20th century. But I’m not sure if WordPress was prevalent even in those times. Yeah, I got bit carried away, I guess. I better stop here before I get to BC and stuff.πŸ˜πŸ˜›
      May 2017 prove to be one of your best years. Good luck!πŸŽ‰πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ƒ

      Like

Leave a Reply

